Click to Home
Go To Search
PrintEmailFacebookTwitter
Victim Information
Victim Follow-Up Instructions
In reference to a reported incident you have filed with the Moline Police Department, the following is the process that will determine if further follow-up investigation will take place:
  • Your report will be forwarded to the Investigation Division where it will be evaluated. It is not possible for the Investigation Division to investigate or follow up on every complaint. Based on certain criteria, the Investigation Division will determine whether or not your complaint will be assigned for additional investigation.
  • Should your complaint meet the criteria, it will be assigned to an investigator who will contact you concerning your report.
  • If your complaint does not meet the established criteria, your report will be kept on file for information purposes. Your report will continue to be reviewed and if further information is developed, you will be contacted.
  • If you have any questions concerning your complaint, call

Prosecution Instructions
  • To complainant: If an arrest was made, you must call the Rock Island County State's Attorney's Office by 9:00 am the next business day to pursue charges (309-558-3251).
  • If no arrest was made but you wish for your case to be reviewed for prosecution, please call the State's Attorney's Office (309-558-3251) within the next 14 days between the hours of 8:00 am - 4:30 pm, Monday through Friday, and request that your case be reviewed.
  • If you are seeking an arrest warrant and you fail to contact the state Attorney's Office within 14 days of the date of the offense, your case will be administratively closed by the Moline Police Department.
  • When calling the State's Attorney's Office, the following information will be needed:
    • Moline Police Department complaint number
    • Date of offense
    • Time of offense
    • Investigating officer
  • In cases of domestic violence (DV) or stalking, you may be eligible to obtain an Order of Protection or a No Contact / Stalking No Contact Order.
    • Necessary petition paperwork can be obtained at the Rock Island County Circuit Clerk's Office, Rock Island County Courthouse, 3rd floor, 210 15th Street, Rock Island, IL between the hours of 8:00 am - 4:30 pm Monday through Friday.
    • Domestic Violence personnel provided by Family Resources are available at the Courthouse Monday through Friday, 8:00 am - 11:00 am, to answer questions and assist in completing petition paperwork.  You may also call Family Resources with questions related to domestic violence matters (309-797-6534).  After-hours calls can be made to the Crisis Line (309-797-1777). 
  • Victims over the age of 65 may be eligible for additional assistance from Alternatives for the Older Adult (309-277-0167).  If anyone under the age of 18 was involved in the incident, additional assistance may be available from the Illinois Department of Children and Family Services (309-794-3500 / 1-800-25-ABUSE).

Illinois Crime Victim Compensation Act
The Crime Victim Compensation Act was established by the Illinois General Assembly in 1973 with the primary goal of helping to reduce the financial burden imposed on victims of violent crime and their families. The Illinois Crime Victim Compensation Program can provide innocent victims and their families with up to $27,000 in financial assistance for expenses accrued as a result of a violent crime.

For more information, please visit the Illinois Attorney General website.


Contact Information

Rock Island County State Attorney’s Office
County Courthouse
15th St and 3rd Ave
4th Floor
Rock Island, Illinois 61201
Ph: 309.786.4451 ext. 240